Senate Committee on Information Technology and Media Services (IT&Media) 2017-2018 Report to the Senate

The Senate IT&Media Committee held two meetings during the 2017-2018 academic year. The agenda for these meetings included the following items:

- 1) Update on Information Technology Services (ITS)'s project portfolio from Bob Heinrich and Scott Huston: Bob and Scott updated the committee on a wide range of projects either underway, complete, or about to be started. Those projects include (among many others): a newly designed portal (responsive design to better support mobile browsing), which was designed in-house; identity management enhancements; rolling out a new version of Banner 9; use of Amazon Web Services for business continuity, maximizing availability, and for disaster recovery (e.g., instead of backup tapes stored in facility in Philly); new cell towers on campus; Office 365 with cloud hosting for faculty/staff e-mail; updated ITS website; Google Apps for Education; Wi-Fi access for campus guests; Cybersecurity awareness initiatives such as the phishing test; and ITS's FY19 budget request.
- 2) Annual review of the instructional continuity plan: Linda Feeney's office maintains this plan. The Senate IT&Media Committee reviews the plan annually and provides feedback for revisions.
- 3) Reviewed the guidelines for Use of Alternative Online Tools in Instruction.

Members:

Faculty Members

Vincent Cicirello Chair (2016-2018) Chenyan Xu Vice Chair (2017–2018)

Katherine Panagakos ARHU (2017–2019) and Union representative

Jane Bokunewicz

Ron Caro

EDUC (2017–2019)

Kimberly Furphy

Bob Blaskiewicz

David Lechner

Anna Pfeiffer-Herbert

Connie Tang

BUSN (2017–2019)

HLTH (2017–2019)

Library (2017–2019)

NAMS (2017–2019)

SOBL (2017–2019)

Ex Officio Members

Joe Toth Director of Library Services
Robert Heinrich Chief Information Officer
Linda Feeney Director of E-Learning

Scott Huston Executive Director of Information Technology Services